Belagavi forest circle is one among the 13 forest circles of karntaka with 315532.8 square kilometers of forest area. It covers 3 revenue districts namely Belagavi, Bagalakoteand  Vijayapura. The forest area of the circle is about 8.72% of the geographical area of 3 districts. Belagavi circle comprises of 4 divisions namely Belagavi, Gokak, Bagalakote, Vijayapura and 3 Social Forestry divisions namely Belagavi, Bagalakote, Vijayapura.


The forest types range from dense evergreen forests of KhanapurTaluk to valuable moist deciduous forests containing Teak, Rosewood and other valuable species. Dry deciduous forests abound in the eastern parts. The Ghataprabha and Bagalkote divisions have well stocked dry deciduous and thorn and scrub forests and are well known for raising very good Hardwickiabinata plantations. Vijayapura Division focuses on afforestation in farm lands through distribution of seedlings and supporting farm forestry activities


Greening of urban areas, institutional lands and raising of roadside plantations are also a major thrust area, the forest department possesses necessary skill and expertise to grow tall seedlings. With good follow up on maintenance, the success rate of these plantations is also high

Belagavi Circle has two Sanctuaries namely Bhimgad Wild Life Sanctuary and Ghataprabha Bird Sanctuary and also one mini zoo namely Kittur Rani Chennamma Biological Park at Bhutaramanahatti in the outskirts of Belagavi.